
Montana Public Employee Retirement Administration 
PO Box 200131 • Helena MT 59620-0131  
(406) 444-3154 • Toll Free (877) 275-7372  
http://mpera.mt.gov 

 Page 1 of 12 
 
 

MBS‐0126‐0005‐01‐0000000000

 
 

Refund Checklist 
 
We will not process your refund until you have been terminated for at least 30 days. In order 
to process your refund, check that you have completed the following: 
 
 You have terminated employment from your position covered by this retirement plan.  

This means you have severed employment, been paid all sick and annual leave, and 
have no agreement (verbal or written) to return to work with this employer.  
 

 You have selected a withdrawal option; Direct Rollover, Lump-sum Payment, or 
combined Lump-sum Payment of Taxed Contributions/Direct Rollover of Pre-Tax 
Contributions.   

 
 If you elected Direct Deposit:   

 Sign the form 
 Your Joint Account Holder signed the form 
 You attached a voided check, Electronic Funds Transfer (ETF) form, or 

Account Verification. If no checks are available, you have provided accurate 
routing and account numbers. 
 

 If you elected a Direct Rollover: 
 Your Financial Institute or Plan Administrator has signed the form 

 
 Your signature has been witnessed by either: 

 Public Notary 
 Authorized MPERA staff member 

 
Please ensure your form is completely filled out before sending to MPERA.  We 
cannot process incomplete forms and they will be returned.  Accurately completed form will 
eliminate delays. 
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Important Information Regarding Your Retirement 

Funds 
 

If you are leaving employment, you have several choices regarding your retirement funds: 
 
Choice 1 – Leave your money on account* 

Generally, you may leave your assets in the plan administered by the Montana Public 
Employees’ Retirement Administration (MPERA) to grow tax deferred until you reach age 
70 ½. 
 
If you are a vested Defined Benefit Retirement Plan member, you can estimate your 
retirement benefit using our online calculators at:  mpera.mt.gov. 
 
*By law, we are required to refund money to members with an account balance of less than 
$1000. 

 
Choice 2 – Direct rollover into another eligible plan 

You can choose to roll funds of $200 or more into another eligible plan.  Be sure to confirm 
that the new plan will accept your rollover. 

 
Choice 3 – Take a distribution 

If you take a distribution from your account, federal law requires us to withhold 20% of the 
distribution for federal income tax purposes. State tax withholding may also apply. 
 
Once you take a distribution, you also have the option of rolling it over into an IRA or a 
qualified employer’s plan.  Amounts not rolled over within the 60 day time frame will be 
subject to ordinary income tax in the year received. 
 
If you are under 59 ½ years old, you may also have to pay a 10% additional income tax for 
early distributions.  Please contact your tax professional before making a final decision. 

 
If you choose a direct rollover or distribution (choice 2 or 3), you will need to have been 
paid out all of your compensatory, annual and sick leave and have severed employment for at 
least 30 days. For choices 2 and 3: 

 
 Defined Benefit Retirement Plan members will receive a refund of their contributions 

plus interest. Complete the attached Defined Benefit Refund Application.  
 
 

 Defined Contribution Retirement Plan members please contact MPERA at the 
address, phone number or email address shown above for the required paperwork. 
 
– Non-vested members will receive a refund of their contributions plus interest. 
 
– Vested members will receive a refund of their contributions and the employer 

contributions plus interest. 
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DEFINED BENEFIT REFUND APPLICATION  

 
PLEASE COMPLETE THE REFUND INFORMATION ON THE BACK OF THIS FORM. 

 
 
 

* For identification and tax purposes.  §19-2-403(8) MCA,  26 USC § 6109. 

MEMBER INFORMATION 
Last Name 

 

First Name, MI Social Security Number* 

            

Date of Birth 
        

/ /

Employing Agency Retirement System (Circle all that apply) 
 
PERS      HPORS      SRS      MPORS   

FURS      JRS       GWPORS 
Mailing Address 

City 

 

State 

 

Zip code 

 

Daytime Phone Number 

(                ) 

Email address 

 

 I have read the IRS special tax notice regarding this withdrawal. I understand the options available to 
me and that MPERA will mail a 1099R tax form the following January. 

 I am terminating my employment with this agency. I will not be employed by this or any agency covered by this 
retirement system for at least 30 days. I certify that I have not established an agreement for re-employment in 
a position covered by the retirement system providing this refund. 

 I understand that processing my refund cannot be completed until 30 days after my termination. I understand 
that MPERA cannot process this application until my employer submits my final payroll information.  This may 
take up to four weeks after I receive my last paycheck. 

 I understand that my membership ceases upon withdrawal of my accumulated contributions and I will not be 
entitled to any benefits provided by the system. In addition, I understand that if I return to MPERA-covered 
employment, my required contribution rate and my Guaranteed Annual Benefit Adjustment, if any, will be 
determined based on my new hire date. 

 I understand I must sign this form in order for my application to be processed. 

MEMBER SIGNATURE 
THIS FORM WILL NOT BE PROCESSED WITHOUT A SIGNATURE AND ONE APPROVED WITNESS SIGNATURE. 

Signature 
 

Date 

WITNESS SIGNATURE   
REQUIRED - EITHER PUBLIC NOTARY OR AUTHORIZED MPERA STAFF’S SIGNATURE 

1 PUBLIC NOTARY  You may have this form notarized at your bank or any local government office. 
 

State of     County of                

Subscribed to and sworn to (or affirmed) before me this  ____ day of 

   , 20         by _______________________________. 
     (member printed name)  

    

    

    

                       

(     Seal or Stamp   ) 
Signature of Notary My Commission expires 

2 AUTHORIZED MPERA STAFF’S SIGNATURE 

MPERA Staff’s Signature Printed Name Date 



DEFINED BENEFIT REFUND APPLICATION 

* For identification and tax purposes.  §19-2-403(8) MCA,  26 USC § 6109.

WITHDRAWAL OPTIONS 
Choose one of the following options 

Member Last Name 

 

First Name, MI Social Security Number* 

            

DIRECT ROLLOVER.  

I am rolling my accumulated contributions directly into another eligible retirement plan that will accept it. I 
assume full responsibility for the direct rollover transaction and will not hold the Plan Administrator, Trustee, 
Custodian, or issuer of either the distributing or receiving plans liable for any adverse consequences that 
may result.  I am not required to pay federal and state taxes or a penalty on this rollover distribution at this 
time, unless I choose to roll the distribution into a Roth IRA.  I understand that if I choose a Roth IRA, the 
pre-tax amounts in the rollover will be included in my taxable income but will not be subject to the 10% 
additional income tax on early distributions and that MPERA will not withhold any tax due. Direct deposit is 
not available for this option. 

I am not required to pay federal and state taxes or a penalty on my accumulated contributions at this time. 
Note: Direct deposit is not available for this option. 

LUMP-SUM PAYMENT OF TAXED CONTRIBUTIONS/DIRECT ROLLOVER OF PRE-TAX CONTRIBUTIONS  

My taxed accumulated contributions will be paid directly to me in a lump sum. I am rolling my pre-tax 
accumulated contributions directly into another eligible retirement plan that will accept it. (Complete DIRECT 

ROLLOVER information above) I am not required to pay federal and state taxes or a penalty on the pre-tax 
contributions and interest at this time.   

 I would like to receive the taxed contributions through Direct Deposit (Complete Attached Direct 
Deposit form.) 

 I would like to receive my taxed contributions in a check sent to the address indicated on the front. 

To Be Completed by Eligible Retirement Plan or IRA Accepting Rollover 

Plan Type (circle one):   401(a)     401(k)      403(a)     403(b)     457(b)    IRA 408(a) or (b)   Roth IRA 408(a) 

Will this plan accept taxed money?    Yes        No   
Make Check Payable to: Account Number: 

Mail Check to: 

 

City State Zip Code 

 

Financial Institution or Plan Administrator Contact (please print) 

 

Phone Number 

(              ) 

Financial Institute or Plan Administrator Contact Signature 

I certify that this rollover request complies with applicable plan provisions and federal law. 
Financial Institution or Plan Administrator Signature Date 

Member Completes This Section Only for Lump-sum Refund 

LUMP-SUM PAYMENT  

My accumulated contributions will be paid directly to me in a lump sum. However, MPERA is required to 
withhold 20% of any taxable amount for federal taxes. I may also be required to pay a 10% penalty for early 
withdrawal when I pay my income taxes.   

  I would like to receive my money through Direct Deposit (Complete Attached Direct Deposit 
form.) 

 I would like to receive my money in a check sent to the address indicated on the front.  



Montana Public Employee Retirement Administration 
PO Box 200131 • Helena MT 59620-0131  
(406) 444-3154 • Toll Free (877) 275-7372  
http://mpera.mt.gov 

 
Page 7 of 12 

 

DIRECT DEPOSIT AGREEMENT 
MEMBER INFORMATION 

I request that MPERA directly deposit my payment into my account at the financial institution identified below. I certify 
that I am the account holder of this account. I also certify I am entitled to payment from the retirement system; I have 
read and understand the back of this form; and I have identified all joint account holders. 
Last Name 

 

First, MI Social Security Number * 

            -                   - 

Date of Birth 
 
            /                   / 

Employing Agency 

 

Member Mailing Address City State Zip Code 

Signature Daytime Phone Number 

(             ) 

FINANCIAL INSTITUTION INFORMATION 
 MPERA cannot make deposits to banks outside the U.S.A.  

Name of Financial Institution Phone Number 

(          ) 
Mailing Address City State Zip Code 

Account Type 

 Checking       Savings 

Account Number Routing Number  

JOINT ACCOUNT HOLDER INFORMATION (if applicable) 
I certify by signing this form that I understand my responsibilities as a joint account holder to immediately advise both 
MPERA and the financial institution of the death of the payee and that a payment deposited after the date of death must 
be returned to MPERA. I also understand providing false information or improperly receiving payment may be a criminal 
offense under federal and Montana law.  
Last Name First Name, MI Social Security Number* 

           -                      - 

Date of Birth 
           
                 /                   / 

Gender 

   M           F 

Daytime Phone Number 
 
(                )       

Mailing Address City State Zip Code 

Joint Account holder Signature (Required) 

 
Tape voided check, or enclose either Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) form, or Account 

Verification from your financial institution here. (do not staple) 
 

� Please indicate here if checks are not available for your checking account, and verify that 
you have clearly provided the accurate routing and account numbers. 

 
Please do not attach a deposit slip. 

 

 

 

* For identification and tax purposes. § 19-2-403(8) MCA, 26 USC § 6109.   

MBS‐0126‐0005‐01‐0000000000 



. 
Important Information – Please Read 

 

We are pleased to offer you the safety and convenience of direct deposit for your defined benefit 
account refund. The financial institution you select for this one-time direct deposit may be any bank, 
savings bank, savings and loan association or similar institution, or federal or state chartered credit 
union located in the U.S.  

 
Your name must be on the account that the payment is being deposited into. If your payment is to be 
deposited into your checking account, attach a voided check. (If checks are not available for your 
checking account, please note that on the form.) If payment is to be deposited into your savings 
account, or a checking account for which checks are not available, verify that you have clearly 
provided the accurate routing and account numbers. Please note: MPERA cannot make direct 
deposits to banks outside the U.S.A. 
 
SPECIAL NOTICE TO JOINT ACCOUNT HOLDERS 
Joint account holders should immediately advise both MPERA and the financial institution of the 
death of the payee member. Payments deposited after the date of death must be returned to 
MPERA. A determination regarding any death benefit payable will be made by MPERA. 
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SPECIAL TAX NOTICE REGARDING YOUR ROLLOVER OPTIONS  
UNDER A GOVERNMENTAL 401(a) PLAN

You are receiving this notice because all or a 
portion of a payment you are receiving from a 
retirement system administered by the Montana 
Public Employee Retirement Administration (the 
Plan) is eligible to be rolled over to an IRA or an 
employer plan. This notice is intended to help you 
decide whether to do such a rollover. YOU MAY 
REQUEST A PAPER COPY OF THIS NOTICE 
FROM THE PLAN AT NO CHARGE TO YOU. 

Rules that apply to most payments from a plan are 
described in the "General Information About 
Rollovers" section. Special rules that only apply in 
certain circumstances are described in the 
"Special Rules and Options" section. 

GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT ROLLOVERS  

How can a rollover affect my taxes? You will be 
taxed on a payment from the Plan if you do not roll 
it over. If you are under age 59 ½ and do not do a 
rollover, you will also have to pay a 10% additional 
income tax on early distributions (unless an 
exception applies).  

If you do a rollover to a traditional IRA or an 
eligible employer plan, you will not have to pay tax 
until you receive payments from the IRA or plan, 
and the 10% additional income tax will not apply if 
those payments are made after you are age 59 ½ 
(or if an exception applies).  

If you do a rollover to a Roth IRA, you will be taxed 
on the amount rolled over (reduced by any after-
tax amount). However, if you are under age 59 ½ 
at the time of the rollover, the 10% additional 
income tax will not apply. See the section below 
titled "If you roll over your payment to a Roth IRA" 
for more details. 

Where may I roll over the payment?  You may 
roll over the payment to either an IRA (an 
individual retirement account or individual 
retirement annuity) or an employer plan (a tax-
qualified section 401(a) plan, section 403(b) plan, 
or governmental section 457(b) deferred 
compensation plan) that will accept the rollover. 
The rules of the IRA or employer plan that 
holds the rollover will determine your 
investment options, fees, and future rights to 
payment of the rolled over amount. Further, 
the amount rolled over will become subject to 
the tax rules that apply to the IRA or employer 
plan. 

How do I do a rollover? There are two ways to do 
a rollover – either a direct rollover or a 60-day 
rollover. 

If you do a direct rollover, The Plan will make the 
payment directly to your IRA or an employer plan. 
You should contact the IRA sponsor or employer 
plan administrator for information on how to do a 
direct rollover. 

If you do not do a direct rollover, the Plan is 
required to withhold 20% of the payment for 
federal income taxes. If you do not do a direct 
rollover, you may still do a rollover by making a 
deposit into an IRA or eligible employer plan that 
will accept it. You will have 60 days after you 
receive the payment to make the deposit. This 
means that, in order to roll over the entire payment 
in a 60-day rollover, you must use other funds to 
make up for the 20% withheld. If you do not roll 
over the entire amount of the payment, the portion 
not rolled over will be taxed and will be subject to 
the 10% additional income tax on early 
distributions if you are under age 59 ½ (unless an 
exception applies). 

How much may I roll over? If you wish to do a 
rollover, you may roll over all or part of the amount 
eligible for rollover. Any payment from the Plan is 
eligible for rollover, except: 

 Certain payments spread over a period of at 
least 10 years or over your life or life 
expectancy (or the lives or joint life expectancy 
of you and your beneficiary) (This means that 
your lifetime monthly benefits are not eligible 
for rollover.) 

 Required minimum distributions after age 70 ½ 
(or after death) 

 Corrective distributions of contributions that 
exceed tax law limitations 

The Plan administrator or the payor can tell you 
what portion of a payment is eligible for rollover. 

If any portion of your payment is taxable but 
cannot be rolled over, the mandatory withholding 
rules described above do not apply. In this case, 
you may elect not to have withholding apply to that 
portion. If you do nothing, an amount will be taken 
out of this portion of your payment for federal 
income tax withholding. To elect out of withholding, 
ask the Plan administrator for the election form and 
related information. 



If I don't do a rollover, will I have to pay the 
10% additional income tax on early 
distributions? If you are under age 59 ½, you will 
have to pay the 10% additional income tax on early 
distributions for any payment from the Plan 
(including amounts withheld for income tax) that 
you do not roll over, unless one of the 
exceptions listed below applies. This tax is in 
addition to the regular income tax on the payment 
not rolled over. 

The 10% additional income tax does not apply to 
the following payments from the Plan: 

 Payments made after you separate from 
service if you will be at least age 55 in the year 
of the separation 

 Payments that start after you separate from 
service if paid at least annually in equal or 
close to equal amounts over your life or life 
expectancy (or the lives or joint life expectancy 
of you and your beneficiary) 

 Payments from a governmental defined benefit 
pension plan made after you separate from 
service if you are a public safety employee 
and you are at least age 50 in the year of the 
separation.  

 Payments made due to disability 

 Payments after your death 

 Corrective distributions of contributions that 
exceed tax law limitations 

 Payments made directly to the government to 
satisfy a federal tax levy 

 Payments made under a family law order 
(FLO) 

 Payments up to the amount of your deductible 
medical expenses 

If I do a rollover to an IRA, will the 10% 
additional income tax apply to early 
distributions from the IRA?  If you receive a 
payment from an IRA when you are under age 59 
½, you will have to pay the 10% additional income 
tax on early distributions from the IRA, unless an 
exception applies. In general, the exceptions to the 
10% additional income tax for early distributions 
from an IRA are the same as the exceptions listed 
above for early distributions from a plan. However, 
there are a few differences for payments from an 
IRA, including: 

 There is no exception for payments after 
separation from service that are made after 
age 55. 

 The exception for family law orders (FLOs) 
does not apply (although a special rule applies 
under which, as part of a divorce or separation 
agreement, a tax-free transfer may be made 

directly to an IRA of a spouse or former 
spouse). 

 The exception for payments made at least 
annually in equal or close to equal amounts 
over a specified period applies without regard 
to whether you have had a separation from 
service. 

 There are additional exceptions for (1) 
payments for qualified higher education 
expenses, (2) payments up to $10,000 used in 
a qualified first-time home purchase, and (3) 
payments after you have received 
unemployment compensation for 12 
consecutive weeks (or would have been 
eligible to receive unemployment 
compensation but for self-employed status). 

Will I owe State income taxes?  

This notice does not describe any State or local 
income tax rules (including withholding rules). 
State taxes are not withheld and are your 
responsibility. 

SPECIAL RULES AND OPTIONS 
If your payment includes after-tax 
contributions: After-tax contributions included in a 
payment are not taxed. If a payment is only part of 
your benefit, an allocable portion of your after-tax 
contributions is generally included in the payment. 
If you have pre-1987 after-tax contributions 
maintained in a separate account, a special rule 
may apply to determine whether the after-tax 
contributions are included in a payment. 

You may roll over to an IRA a payment that 
includes after-tax contributions through either a 
direct rollover or a 60-day rollover. You must 
keep track of the aggregate amount of the after-
tax contributions in all of your IRAs (in order to 
determine your taxable income for later payments 
from the IRAs). If you do a 60-day rollover to an 
IRA of only a portion of the payment made to you, 
the after-tax contributions are treated as rolled over 
last. For example, assume you are receiving a 
complete distribution of your benefit which totals 
$12,000, of which $2,000 is after-tax contributions. 
In this case, if you roll over $10,000 to an IRA in a 
60-day rollover, no amount is taxable because the 
$2,000 amount not rolled over is treated as being 
after-tax contributions. 

You may roll over to an employer plan all of a 
payment that includes after-tax contributions, but 
only through a direct rollover (and only if the 
receiving plan separately accounts for after-tax 
contributions and is not a governmental section 
457(b) plan). You can do a 60-day rollover to an 
employer plan of part of a payment that includes 
after-tax contributions, but only up to the amount 
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of the payment that would be taxable if not rolled 
over. 

If you miss the 60-day rollover deadline: 
Generally, the 60-day rollover deadline cannot be 
extended. However, the IRS has the limited 
authority to waive the deadline under certain 
extraordinary circumstances, such as when 
external events prevented you from completing 
the rollover by the 60-day rollover deadline. To 
apply for a waiver, you must file a private letter 
ruling request with the IRS. Private letter ruling 
requests require the payment of a nonrefundable 
user fee. For more information, see IRS 
Publication 590, Individual Retirement 
Arrangements. 

If you were born on or before January 1, 1936: 
If you were born on or before January 1, 1936 and 
receive a lump sum distribution that you do not roll 
over, special rules for calculating the amount of the 
tax on the payment might apply to you. For more 
information, see IRS Publication 575, Pension 
and Annuity Income. 

If you roll over your payment to a Roth IRA:  If 
you roll over the payment to a Roth IRA, a 
special rule applies under which the amount of 
the payment rolled over (reduced by any after-tax 
amounts) will be taxed. However, the 10% 
additional income tax on early distributions will not 
apply (unless you take the amount rolled over out 
of the Roth IRA within 5 years, counting from 
January 1 of the year of the rollover).  

If you roll over the payment to a Roth IRA, later 
payments from the Roth IRA that are qualified 
distributions will not be taxed (including earnings 
after the rollover). A qualified distribution from a 
Roth IRA is a payment made after you are age 59 
½ (or after your death or disability, or as a 
qualified first-time homebuyer distribution of up to 
$10,000) and after you have had a Roth IRA for at 
least 5 years. In applying this 5-year rule, you 
count from January 1 of the year for which your 
first contribution was made to a Roth IRA. 
Payments from the Roth IRA that are not qualified 
distributions will be taxed to the extent of earnings 
after the rollover, including the 10% additional 
income tax on early distributions (unless an 
exception applies). You do not have to take 
required minimum distributions from a Roth IRA 
during your lifetime.  

You cannot roll over a payment from the Plan to a 
designated Roth account in an employer plan. 

For more information see IRS Publication 590, 
Individual Retirement Arrangements. You should 

consult your tax advisor if you are interested in 
rolling over your distribution to a Roth IRA. 

If you are an eligible retired public safety 
officer and your pension payment is used to 
pay for health coverage or qualified long-term 
care insurance:  If you retired as a public safety 
officer and your retirement was by reason of 
disability or was after normal retirement age, you 
can exclude from your taxable income plan 
payments paid directly as premiums to an accident 
or health plan (or a qualified long-term care 
insurance contract) that your employer maintains 
for you, your spouse, or your dependents, up to a 
maximum of $3,000 annually. For this purpose, a 
public safety officer is a law enforcement officer, 
firefighter, chaplain, or member of a rescue squad 
or ambulance crew. 

The Form 1099-R that you receive from the Plan 
administrator will report the deducted insurance 
premium as taxable. If you want to take advantage 
of this $3,000 exclusion, you must report the 
amount claimed on Form 1040. The instructions to 
Form 1040 explain that the taxable amount 
received from the Plan, reduced by the amount of 
qualified premiums deducted and paid by the Plan 
(not to exceed $3,000), must be entered on line 
16b of the Form 1040. Next to the entry, in the 
margin, you must write the letters "PSO."  This is 
an annual election—you will need to report the 
exclusion for each year in which you want to claim 
the exclusion.  

If you are not a plan member:   
Payments after death of the member. If you 
receive a distribution after the member's death 
that you do not roll over, the distribution will 
generally be taxed in the same manner described 
elsewhere in this notice. However, the 10% 
additional income tax on early distributions and 
the special rules for public safety officers do not 
apply, and the special rule described under the 
section "If you were born on or before January 1, 
1936" applies only if the member was born on or 
before January 1, 1936. 

If you are a surviving spouse.* If you receive 
a payment from the Plan as the surviving 
spouse of a deceased member, you have the 
same rollover options that the member would 
have had, as described elsewhere in this 

                                                 
* A spouse is an individual recognized under a marriage 
validly entered into in any state or foreign jurisdiction, 
whether opposite-sex or same-sex and regardless of 
whether or not those married individuals reside in the state 
or foreign jurisdiction in which such marriage occurred.  A 
domestic partner is not treated as a spouse under federal 
law. 



notice. In addition, if you choose to do a 
rollover to an IRA, you may treat the IRA as 
your own or as an inherited IRA.  

An IRA you treat as your own is treated like 
any other IRA of yours, so that payments 
made to you before you are age 59 ½ will be 
subject to the 10% additional income tax on 
early distributions (unless an exception 
applies) and required minimum distributions 
from your IRA do not have to start until after 
you are age 70 ½. 

If you treat the IRA as an inherited IRA, 
payments from the IRA will not be subject to 
the 10% additional income tax on early 
distributions. However, if the member had 
started taking required minimum 
distributions, you will have to receive required 
minimum distributions from the inherited IRA. 
If the member had not started taking required 
minimum distributions from the Plan, you will 
not have to start receiving required minimum 
distributions from the inherited IRA until the 
year the member would have been age 70 ½. 

If you are a surviving beneficiary other 
than a spouse*. If you receive a payment 
from the Plan because of the member's 
death and you are a designated 
beneficiary other than a surviving spouse, the 
only rollover option you have is to do a direct 
rollover to an inherited IRA. Effective 
January 1, 2010, if you do not do a direct 
rollover to an inherited IRA, the Plan must 
withhold 20% of the payment for federal 
income tax. Payments from the inherited IRA 
will not be subject to the 10% additional 
income tax on early distributions. You will 
have to receive required minimum distributions 
from the inherited IRA. 

Payments under a family law order. If you are the 
spouse or former spouse* of the member who 
receives a payment from the Plan under a family 
law order (FLO), you generally have the same 
options the member would have (for example, you 
may roll over the payment to your own IRA or an 
eligible employer plan that will accept it). If you are 
an alternate payee other than the spouse or former 
spouse* of the member and the member has died, 
you generally have the same options as a 
surviving beneficiary other than the spouse, so that 
the only rollover option you have is to do a direct 
rollover to an inherited IRA. Payments under the 
FLO will not be subject to the 10% additional 
income tax on early distributions. 

If you are a nonresident alien:  If you are a 
nonresident alien and you do not do a direct 
rollover to a U.S. IRA or U.S. employer plan, 
instead of withholding 20%, the Plan is generally 

required to withhold 30% of the payment for 
federal income taxes. If the amount withheld 
exceeds the amount of tax you owe (as may 
happen if you do a 60-day rollover), you may 
request an income tax refund by filing Form 
1040NR and attaching your Form 1042-S. See 
Form W-8BEN for claiming that you are entitled to 
a reduced rate of withholding under an income tax 
treaty. For more information, see also IRS 
Publication 519, U.S. Tax Guide for Aliens, and 
IRS Publication 515, Withholding of Tax on 
Nonresident Aliens and Foreign Entities. 

Other special rules:  If a payment is one in a 
series of payments for less than 10 years, your 
choice whether to make a direct rollover will apply 
to all later payments in the series (unless you 
make a different choice for later payments). 

If your payments for the year are less than $200, 
the Plan is not required to allow you to do a direct 
rollover and is not required to withhold for 
federal income taxes. However, you may do a 
60-day rollover. 

You may have special rollover rights if you recently 
served in the U.S. Armed Forces. For more 
information, see IRS Publication 3, Armed Forces' 
Tax Guide. 

NOTICE PERIOD 

Generally, payment cannot be made from the Plan 
until at least 30 days after you receive this notice. 
Thus, you have at least 30 days to consider 
whether or not to have your payment rolled over. If 
you do not wish to wait until this 30-day notice 
period ends before your election is processed, you 
may waive the notice period by making an 
affirmative election indicating whether or not you 
wish to make a direct rollover. Your payment will 
then be processed in accordance with your 
election as soon as practical after it is received by 
the Plan administrator. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION 

You may wish to consult with the Plan 
administrator or payor, or a professional tax 
advisor, before taking a payment from the Plan. 
Also, you can find more detailed information on the 
federal tax treatment of payments from employer 
plans in: IRS Publication 575, Pension and Annuity 
Income; IRS Publication 590, Individual Retirement 
Arrangements (IRAs); and IRS Publication 571, 
Tax-Sheltered Annuity Plans (403(b) Plans). 
These publications are available from a local IRS 
office, on the web at www.irs.gov, or by calling 1-
800-TAX-FORM. 

 
STATE TAXES ARE NOT WITHHELD AND ARE 

YOUR RESPONSIBILITY. 


